top of page

I MOVED!

CHECK OUT THE NEW SPACE AT RACHOVATION!

Trailer Bathroom

The trailer had a typical washroom- smallish, carpeted floors- that were supposed to be pruple but were actually brown (ew)- and the same outdated textured wallpaper as the rest of the trailer. We pulled up the flooring and put down floating/overlapping cork flooring that we had some extra of. I also painted the walls a light grey (that I had left overs of) and I updated the counter!

 

Sink!

So the sink sucked- but I really didn't want to start ripping things out and bothering with any issues that came along with it. The grey paint fixed the ugly wall paper issue but the sink it's self and the counter still weren't great. I wasn't sure what I wanted to do with it yet but I knew I wanted to do something.

I was in Home Hardware looking around the paint sections and spotted Excel Speckle Stone Spray paint. I thought hey this could work for the bathroom counter. I grabbed a can of the grey and white and a can of the clear coat as well as a big drop sheet to tape around the spots I didn't want spray painted. I also tapped off the sink in the same manner as to not get flecks on it.

I sprayed the paint on in 3-4 thin layers of the course of the 24 hours making sure my first coat was dry before applying the other. I found the first cot looked very sparse and didn't show a lot of coverage. If I tried to spray more paint the stone flocks would move each other around create thicker and thinner spots. I ended up letting the first coat dry sparse looking and the second coat layered on nicely and filled in all the gaps!

I added several layers of the clear coat- I am not even sure how many but I would guess around 7- 10 layers. Every time I was there working on the trailer I added another layer. I also added a layer or two after I peeled up the plastic wrap to "seal" the edges from chipping or getting water under it. Some of the paint did peel up when I removed the plastic sheet. I would suggest scoring the overlapping paint with a knife before removal. I had no problem using the edge of some cardboard as a guide to fill in the missed spots around the edges.

TA-DA! The finished project! Does my sink need cleaning? yes ASAP. Could I have coated it a bit more evenly on the right side? sure. Could I have cleaned up the edged a bit more? yep. But over all I am very pleased with my very cheap results and they have held up beautifully since. I have no problem splashing water on them and and no issues wiping them down or removing makeup etc. that I spill on it.

The back splash is a sticker that I purchased at my local surplus store for $5.00 for 4 tiles. They look super cute but have an issue with staying up. I have since super glued the edged of the sticker and it seems to be staying put.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page