top of page

I MOVED!

CHECK OUT THE NEW SPACE AT RACHOVATION!

Cupboard Upgrade!

Check out this updated post on my new site here!

Yaaaaaaaaas for white cupboard paint!

SO after hours of looking through trailer before and after posts on Pinterest I knew I must have new fresh white cupboards!

This decision was not a popular opinion among others and I had to convince them otherwise- "well you do whatever you want buuuuut.....I don't think you should" type thing. I think there are certain style and colour choices I could have went with to go with the cupboards as is, buuuuut I have a secret hatred for orangey wood and that is mostly what I felt like this was- I also had fake wood going halfway up my walls I knew I needed to paint and thought it'd look much better if it matched.

Look at the "purple" carpet, it literally looks like a mix of green and brown here! And the wall paper is lame....but onto the cupboards!

I started by removing the cupboard doors and lightly sanding them- I painted these laid outside on a tarp. I painting 2-3 coats on the front of each door and one light coat on the back or inside- because really who cares what the inside of cupboards look like, not me anyways.

In case you can't tell by the blaskish looking stuff- that is our wall that completely molded and rotted apart- we discovered this only after ripping up the flooring and seeing a wet moldy patch. Very disappointing after we thought we had checked the trailer over for soft spots pretty well before purchasing it! We also knew we wanted new counter tops do we went ahead and ripped those off- made painting and such much easier actually

It was thick paint that went on thin? if that makes any sense- anyways I am really pleased with how it turned out! I not not use a primer and I did not sand first

Below is after the first coat of paint! Little patchy? sure! But I figured I'd have to, and wanted to, do a couple of coats. Rven like this I already knew white was the way to go and other people started to agree!

I alternated painting a coat of wall paint and a coat of white paint until I had applied two coats to each and done some spot touch ups!

As you can sort of see here in the bottom corner- we pulled out the cupboard entirely and decided we wanted to make more of a storage chest there- where the counter would lift up and down and it would house the trailer fixings that were there- the water pipes, electric hook up etc.

As you can see in this picture below we framed in a box around the electrical stuff. I attached cupboard doors with an air gun and created a look of a complete set of cupboards.

I took off all the hinges and door handles and laid the all out on an old piece of cardboard.

I used Rust-oleum Hammered spray paint in black for all the handles and hinges. I follow two think layers of the black paint with two layers on clear spray paint to act an an extra protective layer as the handles get used so often and usually not gently. So far this has been holding up great!

The key is to paint in think layer and to really wait until everything is dried in between, especially wait for handles to dry completely before use. If the paint is soft under of a layer of dried paint it will still wipe completely off.

 

We added an over hang/shelf space to our new counters for a couple of storage bin- need to change out the red bins for something more pleasing!

We left an open spot for our toaster oven as we were worried it may get too hot contained with a counter over top of it.

The lower counter lifts off to give access to the box below containing some electrical and water hook ups.

The fridge was slightly different wood and a slightly different colour than the rest of the cupboards. I painted more like 4-5 layers of paint into the fridge until I was pleased with the white-ness of it! I also spray painting the grate underneath the fridge white- this really did make a huge difference as well!

I am super pleased with out how everything turned out! I LOVE the white cupboards and I think they really freshen up and brighten up the the space. My kitchen feels new, clean and like my own now! The black handles and hinges really give it a great contrast, I couldn't be any happier!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page