top of page

I MOVED!

CHECK OUT THE NEW SPACE AT RACHOVATION!

Sink Saga

SO I had an ugly sink.

We changed the counter tops in the trailer to all wood slabs, in doing so we ripped the old sink out and were going to replace it. After not wanting to spend the amount of money sinks seems to cost and needing a more shallow sink that cheaply available so we could still use the drawers we were sunk.

Klenk's Enamel Epoxy Paint to the Rescue!

I purchased Klenk's Enamal Epoxy and Klenk's Tub & Tile Prep Kit from Home Hardware!

The kit was very handy and I was very pleased with the outcome- the timing including in the directions is rather spread out so be sure to set aside lots of time to complete this project.

The prep kit is basically a very intense probably acidic cleanser with sand in it. It scrubs all the shine off the surface and preps it for painting. Make sure you wear gloves for this and have running water to rinse it off. Once that completely dries it is onto step 2.

You need to mix the ingredients included in the paint kit and let them sit a room temperature for one hour. After this paint away! The paint itself did do a decent job at self leveling and I painted it on in thing layers working in smaller sections at a time. If you leave the paint for too long it becomes tacky and trying to repaint over it before it dries results in the paint peeling it's self up. I did the bottoms last as any paint that dripped down the walls could be touched up then.

It is recommended that you fill any chips in the sink in before starting the process- I obviously didn't and the they filled in quite nicely on their own without issue. The first coat (see picture above) appeared to be a bit streaky and uneven but I could already tell it looked waaaaaay better. I wasn't living close to my sink at the time so I had to be very diligent at timing the later coats out- it is suggested you keep the enamel in cold temperatures while not in use but ensuring it had been brought back to room temperature before use. I ended up getting three coats on before the allotted time in the direction and the paint "expired".

 

I think it turned out great! I was really pleased with all the chips and dents being covered up/filled in and couldn't have been happier with out bright fresh and new it looked! (especially with out new counter tops)

The water we have was very iron heavy before our filter was installed and standing water did discolor the bottom of the sink a bit since then. Nothing some epic elbow grease can't solve though! I do wish I could have applied a few more coats but oh well. Otherwise the sink has held up great so far- very pleased with the result.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page